Skip To Main Content

2001 Men's Soccer Team

2001 Men's Soccer

With a 17–2 record, this was Principia’s first men’s soccer team to receive an NCAA bid to the national tournament. The team also won the NSCAA Team Academic Award. Seven players received All-Conference recognition, and team captain Alex Broz was named to the All-Central Region Team and to the NSCAA Scholar Athlete All Midwest Team. He was also named to an Academic All-America Team by the College Sports Information Directors of America, one of only four Principians ever to receive this honor. Head Coach Seth Johnson was inducted into Principia’s Hall of Fame in 2012 and into the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference’s Hall of Fame in 2014.

Team Members

Patrick Bentley (C’03)
Taylor Bentley (C’05)
Kyle Berdeaux-Webster (C’04)
Alexander Broz, Captain (US’98, C’02)
David Cornthwaite (US’00, C’04)
Brandon Frank (C’03)
Michael Holland (C’05)
Rick Holland (C’01)
Philip Hufstader (C’05)
John King (US’98, C’02)
Christopher Kotila (C’05)
John Rinnert (C’01)
Michael Ruddy (C’05)
Morgan Sheesley (C’04)
Erik Silver (C’02)
Jason Snyder (C’05)
Ricard Taylor (C’03)
Steve Vernon (C’05)
Ryan White (US’99, C’03)

Head Coach: Seth Johnson (FS’93)
Assistant Coach: Keith Garrett
Manager: Phil Green (C’02)